Friday, June 23, 2017
Breaking News
Goldsboro Farmers Market Opens This Friday Posted 6 months 3 weeks ago
Be Santa To A Senior This Holiday Season Posted 6 months 3 weeks ago
The Case For & Against Adam Putnam Posted 6 months 3 weeks ago
Gartners Top 10 Tech Predictions Posted 7 months 4 weeks ago
New Florida Poll Shows Trump Up Posted 7 months 4 weeks ago
Septic Is Ruining Our State Posted 7 months 4 weeks ago
Album Review: "Ruminations" by Conor Oberst Posted 8 months 1 week ago
PREVIEW: Conor Oberst "Ruminations" Posted 8 months 2 weeks ago
How 9/11 Reshaped My Generation Posted 9 months 2 weeks ago
Hollerbach's Announces Sanford Oktoberfest Posted 9 months 2 weeks ago
Seminole High Grad Wins Bronze At Olympics Posted 10 months 1 week ago
Wayback Burgers Opens In Mt. Dora Posted 10 months 2 weeks ago
New Greyhound Regulations In Seminole County Posted 10 months 2 weeks ago
Florida Blue Expanding To Seminole County Posted 10 months 3 weeks ago
Seminole County Artist Marla E Honored Posted 12 months 1 day ago
Star Wars Themed Tree Suspended Tents? Posted 12 months 1 day ago
Apartment Living in Lake Mary Posted 1 year 2 weeks ago
Heavy Rains Force Need For More Storage Posted 1 year 4 months ago
5 Books Every Politico Needs This Christmas Posted 1 year 6 months ago
Patrick Murphy - The Master of Flip-Flops Posted 1 year 6 months ago
Seminole Clerk Retires, Endorses Successor Posted 1 year 7 months ago
Republicans Lose Ground In House District 50 Posted 1 year 10 months ago
Ted 2 Much Better Than First Film Posted 1 year 11 months ago
Wanderlust And The Joys Of Travel Posted 2 years 1 week ago
Andy Gardiner's Game of Thrones Posted 2 years 1 week ago
Space Exploration: Our Future, Today Posted 2 years 1 month ago
Lollapalooza's Lineup Is Lollapalovely Posted 2 years 2 months ago
6 Questions for Carly Fiorina Posted 2 years 2 months ago
Sweetwater 420 Fest Is Gonna Be Dope Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Dressgate: Has Adobe solved the mystery? Posted 2 years 3 months ago
6 Questions For Rand Paul Posted 2 years 4 months ago
First Look - Little Econ Love Fest 2015 Posted 2 years 4 months ago
A Few Thoughts On Music & Music Festivals Posted 2 years 5 months ago
How To Speak Startup Posted 2 years 6 months ago
Sunblock Making You Impotent? Posted 2 years 7 months ago
A Girl and A Gigabyte - FaceTime Audio Posted 2 years 8 months ago
It Makes $ense to Develop Your Personal Brand Posted 2 years 8 months ago
A Girl and A Gigabyte - Canon Pixma Review Posted 2 years 8 months ago
Our Endorsements in House District 28 & 30 Posted 2 years 10 months ago
Our Pick - GOP Primary In CD 7 Posted 2 years 10 months ago
Scott Sturgill's Crumbling Campaign Posted 2 years 12 months ago
Sunshine Law Indictments: A Primer Posted 3 years 6 days ago
Getting Central Florida Moving Posted 3 years 6 days ago
Bortles Drafted By Jaguars Posted 3 years 1 month ago
The SunRail Shell Game Posted 3 years 1 month ago
First Day Seminole Tax Hike Voting Numbers Posted 3 years 2 months ago
April In Historic Seminole County Posted 3 years 2 months ago
Seminole County Vegetarian Eats Under $10 Posted 3 years 3 months ago
Zuckerberg Out To Rule The World? Posted 3 years 3 months ago
Lessons Learned From Flappy Bird Posted 3 years 4 months ago
Shane's Weekly Music Picks Posted 3 years 4 months ago
The Good Neighbors Farmers Market Posted 3 years 4 months ago
Facebook Turns 10 - Unveils "Paper" App Posted 3 years 4 months ago
What Is The Seminole County Post? Posted 3 years 4 months ago
It's Working In Seminole County Posted 3 years 4 months ago
Baking Tip - Organic Ingredients A Must Posted 3 years 4 months ago
Vintage Shopping At It's Best Posted 3 years 4 months ago
Life With MS - Dr. Mark Cascione Posted 3 years 4 months ago
It's Time To Convert The - In Your Life To Posted 3 years 4 months ago

Album Review: "Ruminations" by Conor Oberst

conor oberst, conor oberst ruminations, seminole county news, seminole county post, news seminole county,

The lyrics are, as usual, what make the album worthy of a positive review.

 

By Bridgette Bayley

 

In my robe, with my cigarettes and my cat, I bundled myself up to listen to "Ruminations" the whole way through.

 

An Oberst fan since grade school, he can basically breath and I'll swoon. So, it's not an exaggeration to say I was in love with almost all ten tracks.

 

Maybe it's just a biased opinion or maybe the anticipation of the two year gap between "Upside Down Mountain" and "Ruminations" made the sound of his voice so pleasing.

 

For a man who can't sing, he sure does sound great.

 

The funny thing about idolizing celebrities is that we notice parallels in their lives to our own. We try to make comparisons to feel closer to them.

 

The first song, "Tachycardia", Oberst is making it too easy for me to make these connections that I always do when listening to his music.

 

His struggle with the court system and balancing his interpersonal relationships humanize him in a way where he really could just be singing about my life.

 

He not only could be /like/ me; he could /be/ me.

 

Substance abuse and death are the major themes of the album, not too much unlike his other works and the mood stays mellow throughout. The lyrics are, as usual, what make the album worthy of a positive review.

 

His instrumentals are average at best and very par for the course of his work. In fact, it felt as if I were really listening to his "Coyote Song" about ten times in a row, simply with new verses. Luckily, his words are why I keep coming back.

 

The highlight of the album was "Next of Kin", it hit all of the feels, hard.

 

If you're interested in connecting with your sad side and addiction references won't cause you to relapse or go over your head, this is something you will appreciate.

 

Be calm and patient with this one, it requires your undivided attention.

 

I recommend this to be enjoyed with coffee. Listen to it on NPR by clicking here.

 

Bridgette Bayley is an East Orlando resident and grew up in the Central Florida area.

 

 

Top